About Principal

Kottareddigari Jaya Sankar, was born in Tataiahkalva, a village in the outskirts of Tirupati (a world famous temple town) in Andhra Pradesh, India. He received B.Tech degree in Electronics and Communication Engineering from S.V.University, Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh and M.E. and Ph.D. degrees from the Department of ECE, Osmania University, Hyderabad, Telangana in 1988, 1994, and 2004 respectively.

After a brief stint in a few industries, in 1992 he joined as Assistant Professor in the Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering at Vasavi College of Engineering which is a premier educational institute in Hyderabad, India and presently he is working as Professor and Head of the department in the same college since 2005. He is a member of Board of Governors and coordinator for procurement activity of TEQIP phase-II (A world bank funded project) at Vasavi College of Engineering, Hyderabad. He actively campaigns to collect funds for SACH (Save a Child’s Heart) programme and initiated ‘SAHAAY’ scheme to help poor students by organizing funds from students, colleagues and corporate.

He is a member of Board of Studies in ECE, Osmania University, Hyderabad since the year 2005. He is a subject expert on the selection committee of OU, Hyderabad for recruitment of Assistant Professors, Associate Professors and Professors. He is thesis examiner of M.E./M.Tech program and Ph.D. program of O.U. Hyderabad, JNTU, Hyderabad and Anantapur. On appointment he has set question papers for professional exams conducted by various universities.

He was session chair at many conferences and delivered many invited talks. He is an expert committee member on Departmental Promotion Committee in the areas of ‘Electronics / Avionics & Airborne Instrument Operation’ – National Remote Sensing Center, Balanagar, Hyderabad.

He has guided more than 50 UG projects covering approx. 200 B.E / B.Tech students and 12 PG projects covering 12 M.E / M.Tech students. One candidate received Ph.D. degree under his supervision and another seven candidates are actively pursuing research under his guidance.

He got elected as member of the executive committee of IETE Hyderabad center for two terms, i.e., 2008-2010 and 2012-2014. He has been unanimously got elected as Chairman, IETE Hyderabad center for the term 2014-2016. He was Secretary/Treasurer of IEEE MTT/AP/EMC joint chapter of Hyderabad section for the years 2011 and 2012 and received certificate of appreciation from Chairman, IEEE Hyderabad section.

He has 24 years of teaching experience in Electromagnetics, Antennas, Digital Communication and Microwave and Radar Systems. His research areas of interest are in Coding Theory, RF & Wireless Communications and Genetic Algorithm based antenna design. He has published more than 50 research papers in national and international conferences and Journals. He is Senior Member IEEE and a Fellow of IETE & IE (I), Life member of SEMCE (I) & ISTE.